Print this page

Chronology: FRCC’s Campuses

Fall 1968 — FRCC opens its doors in temporary quarters at East 62nd Avenue and Downing Street, Denver. Original name: Community College of Denver, North Campus (CCD-N). FRCC was the first community college created by the State Board for Community Colleges and Occupational Education.

Fall 1977 — CCD-N moves to its permanent home—the Westminster Campus, a new solar-heated facility on 112th Avenue.

July 1983 — Still part of the Community College of Denver system, the North Campus changes its name to Front Range Community College.

July 1985 — Front Range Community College becomes an autonomous community college.

July 1988 — The Larimer County Voc-Tec Center (LCVTC) merges with Front Range Community College to become FRCC’s Larimer Campus. LCVTC had offered secondary instruction for the Poudre R-1, Thompson R2-J, and Park R-3 school districts since it opened in 1972, and had offered postsecondary and adult vocational-educational programs since fall 1973.

Fall 1990 — FRCC opens the Boulder Valmont Campus in an office building at 2995 Wilderness Place. The college had been offering classes in Boulder since 1983.

January 1995 — The FRCC Longmont Campus opens, fulfilling a long-standing dream of Longmont residents and the Longmont business community. From 1982 to 1994, FRCC had offered college classes to Longmont residents at Longmont High School and various other locations.

July 1995 — FRCC begins offering classes in the old Fort Collins High School building on Remington Street, which became known as the Remington Campus.

July 1995 — Boulder Arapahoe Campus is formed from a temporary merger of FRCC and the Boulder Technical Education Center (TEC), a subsidiary unit of the Boulder Valley School District (BVSD). The campus reverted to the school district in July 1997 and is no longer part of FRCC.

September 1996 — Having outgrown its Wilderness Place location, FRCC’s Boulder Valmont Campus moves to a stand-alone site in Boulder’s Gunbarrel area and is renamed the North Boulder Campus.

February 1997 — The Higher Education and Advanced Technology Center (HEAT) opens at the former Lowry Air Force Base in Aurora. FRCC is one of the charter institutions at the new campus. The campus transferred to Community College of Aurora in September 2001.

August 1998 — In response to growing enrollment, the college renovates and expands campuses. The Longmont Campus doubles in size. A new Campus Center and joint-use College Hill Library are added at the Westminster Campus, and a renovated portion of Mount Antero Building and the new Challenger Point, Longs Peak Student Center, and joint-use Harmony Library are added at the Larimer Campus.

January 1999 — The Brighton Center opens in the former Adams County Justice Center, now the Community Education Center. FRCC joins the CCCOnline consortium for online delivery of courses and degrees.

August 2003 — The Boulder County Campuses in the Gunbarrel area of Boulder and north Longmont reach capacity. FRCC combines the two sites into one larger Boulder County Campus located just southeast of the intersection of Hover Road and the Diagonal (Hwy. 119) in southwest Longmont.

December 2008 The Brighton Center moves to a new home in the newly remodeled Brighton Learning and Resource Center, in the former Platte Valley Medical Center building.

August 2010 Larimer Campus opens new science building, Sunlight Peak.

November 2011 Boulder County Campus completes a renovation which includes new science and medical office technology labs, improvements to 16 general classrooms and the creation of two new classrooms, expansion of the Geographic Information Systems lab, and reconfigured office space that allows more academic advisors, financial aid counselors, and new faculty to meet with students.

January 2012 Westminster Campus opens a Student Services Center in the heart of the campus. A Welcome Center greets students, who can then access Advising, Testing, Special Services, Financial Aid, Cashiers, Admissions and Records, and a 50-station Computer Commons.

March 2013 Westminster Campus students approve a bond fee for parking lot safety improvements, including a new stop light and pedestrian walkways and additional close-in parking, and improvements to the Student Center, including a coffee bar, upgraded gym facilities, quiet study space, and a multipurpose performance space. Larimer Campus students approve a bond fee to contribute to funding $32 million in projects, including a new Integrated Technology Building and renovations to other buildings.

January 2015 Little Bear Peak opens at the Larimer Campus as the first phase of the campus renovation and expansion. Little Bear Peak houses Integrated Technology programs - Automotive Technology, Manufacturing and Energy Technology, and Welding Technology. The Westminster Campus celebrates the improvements to the Student Center. The Student Center houses more student-centered spaces, including a coffee bar, increased lounge space, quiet study rooms, and an upgraded and expanded gym and fitness facility.

August 2015 The South Classroom Building and a new greenhouse open at the Westminster Campus. The South Classroom Building was renovated to become a visual-art center with a ceramics studio, a 3D lab and two 2D labs as well as a general purpose classroom and an outdoor kiln area. The greenhouse has two parts - a hands-on classroom and the greenhouse. A portion of the exterior site will be used as a teaching lab for irrigation systems and landscape construction skills. A full renovation of Redcloud Peak and a renovation of the north wing of Blanca Peak open at the Larimer Campus as the second phase of the campus renovation and expansion. Redcloud Peak was renovated to house the Creative Arts, Design, and Humanities Department. The north wing of Blanca Peak houses Veterinary Technology and Forestry, Wildlife, and Natural Resources.